Offending the Mind – OR – Bullshitting the Believer

This is a portion of an email I received from a woman who worked on the IHOP-KC staff.

 

______________________________________________________________________

“I worked on the IHOP-KC staff for several months before I finally began to question some of the things I saw and heard.  As soon as I questioned, I was treated very differently, treated like an instant outsider.   From the time I challenged parts of the theology taught by Mike Bickle and other leaders, I was met with anger by several co-workers and Bickle, himself, told me that God often “offends the mind” which is why my logical application wasn’t fitting with everything I was observing.  Bickle explained to me in detail how God was offending my mind so that my heart would be revealed, so that he (Bickle) could help me overcome my offense and pursue a deeper relationship with the Lord.  I was more offended by his arrogance than anything I’d ever heard from God.

 

My point in saying all of that is this:  the leaders at IHOP honestly believe they are anointed by God and the rest of us, the rest of all the believers in the world, are simply not.  To question them or disagree with them is the greatest sin you could ever commit in their mind anyway; because they are right and we are wrong.  They won’t come out and say it, but it is their belief and when you question it becomes very evident that this is their belief.  The arrogance is strong and thick and you will not escape it if you dare to challenge anything they say or do.”

_________________________________________________________________________

 

I have run into this exact form of arrogance and elitism as well, which often leads to more isolation or, more accurately, it promotes emotional and relational separation.  There are no words to describe the frustration and the heartache this type of arrogance causes.  Rest assured, the Bible does not tell us that God offends our minds to reveal our hearts.  This is a lie and a mere attempt at justifying why so many people question the theology and false teachings of the IHOP movement.  It makes me sad.

 

God doesn’t offend my mind, IHOP does.  God doesn’t offend my heart, IHOP does.  God doesn’t offend my spirit, IHOP does.

 

 

About stopihopcult

I am a believer in Jesus Christ, as my Savior and I love God and stand up for the truth of His Word. In this stance, I am against IHOP (International House of Prayer) because of their cult activity, tactics of mental and emotional manipulation, distortion of God's Word, and consortation with demonic spirits. IHOP is a cult.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

