My Journey from IHOP to Truth

 

I first heard about the International House of Prayer movement a little over ten years ago but I didn’t begin studying the movement until three years ago.  What caused me to research was the fact that I had friends and loved ones involved in it and, as they told me about experiences and happenings at IHOP,  I began to see red flags and feel uncomfortable in my spirit.  Instead of saying anything to them, I decided to research it for myself.  I did this in the following ways:

 

  • I visited the IHOP in Kansas City prayer room on several occasions.

 

  • I spoke with current and past local pastors in the Kansas City area.

 

  • I read books written by IHOP founder, Mike Bickle.

 

  • I listened to recorded teachings by IHOP founder, Mike Bickle.

 

  • I began to tune-in to Godtv and the on-line IHOP gatherings.

 

  • I wrote to pastors listed in the Ernie Gruen Report.

 

  • I studied all of the self-proclaimed Kansas City Prophets, their recorded visions, dreams, angelic visitations, trips to Heaven, encounters with demons, etc.

 

  • I contacted organizations set-up for the sole purpose of studying evangelical movements across the United States and around different parts of the world.

 

  • I studied the NAR, Dominionism, Latter Rain, Manifest Sons of God, Elect Seed, Toronto Blessing, and many many more movements that shared the same core teachings and philosophy as that being taught at IHOP.

 

  • I searched online and read documentation from individual bloggers to newspapers to magazines to various organizations all posting either pro-IHOP information or against IHOP information.

 

  • I conversed via email with well over one hundred individuals who had come out of the IHOP movement and were willing to share their testimony about the innner workings of what transpired in Kansas City.

 

  • Lastly, and most importantly, I took everything I saw, read, heard and learned back to the Word of God and I sought wisdom therein.

 

When I say that the IHOP movement is based in false doctrine and manipulated Scripture it is said with the conviction of truth in my spirit.  The red flags are numerous and there are more going up every day.  My claims are not based on bias, disgruntled bloggers or manufactured lies, but rather on precise words of teaching that have come directly from the mouths of Mike Bickle and/or Lou Engle, and various other prophets/apostles and leaders within the movement.  It is not my intent to focus on these men and their personal lives, but rather on the spirit behind their words and their teachings.  God is the only one who can pass judgment.  However, His Word instructs us to beware and to be aware of false prophets and false teachers and to test every spirit against the Word of God.  To test the spirit behind this movement you must understand the spirit behind the movement; and to do that you must look at the history of those leading the movement; not for the purpose of condemnation, but for the purpose of indentification of the spirit.

 

 

 

About stopihopcult

I am a believer in Jesus Christ, as my Savior and I love God and stand up for the truth of His Word. In this stance, I am against IHOP (International House of Prayer) because of their cult activity, tactics of mental and emotional manipulation, distortion of God's Word, and consortation with demonic spirits. IHOP is a cult.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

