Harp And Bowl Manipulation

I want to share some information about the type of worship going on in IHOP-KC and in hundreds of other 24/7 prayer locations.  Instead of me spewing out factual information as to why this method of worship isn’t Biblical, I first wanted to take the time to share with you what six people who have had first-hand experience with IHOP are saying about the worship. 

“I was on the worship team at IHOP-KC for over a year. Everyone on the worship teams are trained in the Harp and Bowl method.  They would tell us to look over the room and if people seemed disconnected with the music to pick a phrase, something short and catchy and slow. Then start repeating it over and over until you get the room under CONTROL. I have seen it work over and over. The room will settle down and everyone will mindlessly repeat the music phrase over and over. It shows how powerful the music can be when used in ways to gain control. I will not sing repetitive short verses anymore because of what I have seen and experienced at IHOP.”

 

 

“I was trained in Harp & Bowl and sang on a few worship teams. I was explaining that experience to someone recently and just hearing myself explain the method of how they containerized and systematically controlled worship it reminded me of how it felt then. The control that comes over people in that chanting environment is truly powerful…that is why it hooks people and they become blind to the fact it is manipulating their emotions. I hope and pray others in IHOP wake up and see these things in time to get out.”

 

 

“Music is a tool used to worship God. Worshipping God via song for an hour isn’t bad. I’ve been singing in charismatic churches for decades and love that we linger and repeat certain phrases to God – there’s something about telling God how much you love Him over and over that is transforming in your spirit, but it leaves your spirit open and vulnerable. To this end, worshipping God is a power way to draw close to Him and to yield our hearts and lives to Him.  The thing is, that’s where it’s a matter of trust with those who are leading. The leaders at IHOP use music to weaken the minds and spirits of people so they can push their agenda and wrongfully use this time of vulnerability to manipulate and control people. I’ve seen it first hand over and over again.”

 

 

“The music from IHOP is creepy. The words, the music and the apparent love of God that these kids have would normally draw me in, but it didn’t. Instead it sends up red flags in my spirit. I definitely sense evil behind their efforts. I would guess that it’s unknown to them completely. I think they truly believe they are on the cutting edge of what God is doing, but it’s that very pride that makes them vulnerable to evil influence and manipulation.”

 

 

 

“The repetitive music at IHOP actually changes the brain waves and it is real physical hypnosis, as well as spiritual. When the brain waves slow down it bypasses the part of the brain that filters critical thinking and that is how the power of suggestion, or mind control comes in. Whatever is told, or sung over us goes in as truth and we do not have the warning signal turned on to filter out any lies or Biblical error. This is one powerful way that cult leaders gain control of their followers. So, add to that all the controls and manipulation.”

 

“To the casual observer, there is a lot of hype about IHOP that is so glamorizing and enticing and tends to lull people into acceptance. The repetitive music is incredibly hypnotic…and designed to be so. I’ve done some psychological study into why cults use repetitive words, chants, mantras, etc. And IHOP is not exempt…they simply use music to make it easier to embrace.”

 

 

I’ll post information on the actual Harp and Bowl method at a later date.

Right now I think it is more telling to notice what people who have participated in and/or led this type of worship at IHOP are saying.

 

“It’s a repetitive method of manipulation, mind control,

and spiritual hypnosis.”

 

 

About stopihopcult

I am a believer in Jesus Christ, as my Savior and I love God and stand up for the truth of His Word. In this stance, I am against IHOP (International House of Prayer) because of their cult activity, tactics of mental and emotional manipulation, distortion of God's Word, and consortation with demonic spirits. IHOP is a cult.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

