A Desperate Mother’s Letter

I want to share with you a letter I received from the mother of a young woman who became involved in the IHOP movement in Kansas City.

 

[Start letter]

 

Dear StopIHOPcult,

 

Your blog post that stated IHOP members use excuses such as “Jesus’ message offended people too” really hit home with me because my daughter used to utter that exact phrase word-for-word when she was at IHOP in Kansas City.  It was my fault she got involved in the first place because I sent her to a summer camp there with one of her friends.  I thought a Christian summer camp would be a positive experience and instead it grew into one of the worst nightmares of our lives.  My daughter came home very different and started attending IHOP worship and prayer meetings, which at first I thought was good but once she was involved I began to see red flags everywhere.  Over the next several months her grades fell and she rarely ever ate.  She would tell me she was fasting when I tried to feed her.  She became obsessed with praying and fasting to the point that her father and I had to limit her hours at IHOP and force her to see her old friends and study her school work.  She slipped from a straight A student to failing every class in two semesters and she didn’t seem to care at all about her grades or the fact that she had left her best friend behind.  Her father and I tried to get her out of this movement for over a year but she was 18 years old and we couldn’t force her, so we prayed and prayed.

 

She acted different and talked different, using terms we were not familiar with, and constantly quoted what she had been told or heard at IHOP.  She told us she had been given something called the “Anna Anointing” and she was to fast and pray without ever stopping.  She told horrific stories about prophecy and demons and even told us that the leaders had prayed over her and told her she was the unblemished bride of Christ.  She broke up with her boyfriend from high school who she had been with for four years, telling him she was to marry Jesus and be pure.  Her entire life revolved around this movement and whenever we tried to talk with her about it or question anything about it she would tell us that Jesus offended people too, or that the Holy Spirit offends the mind, or that we were too religious to understand.  Her whole personality changed and I felt as if I didn’t know my little girl at all anymore.  I don’t know how to describe what happened to her other than to say there was an ugly spirit underneath everything that came from her mouth.  She was arrogant and aloof and even mean to us at times, looking down on who we were as Christians and as her parents.  It broke our hearts and terrified us to the point that my husband hired a private investigator to go inside IHOP and find out what was truly happening.  We couldn’t go in ourselves because my daughter would know we were spying on her and resent us even more then she already did.

Before we actually hired the investigator we placed several calls to IHOP asking to speak with various leaders in the organization, all the way up to Mike Bickle himself, though I didn’t expect him to call us back, but I did expect someone lower on the chain of command to at least give us a courtesy call.  I mean, when concerned parents call you would think someone would take the call or return the call but no one ever did.

 

Hiring the private investigator was the best money we’ve ever spent and it wasn’t cheap.  The information he gained saved my daughter and I’m praying it will save all the other kids trapped in this vulgar, terrible place.  I will send you specifics in an attachment.  My daughter is out now and free from the evil spirits that blinded her and bound her to IHOP, thank you Jesus!  She is 23 years old and has a passion for God that is wholesome and pure and her eyes shine again and her beautiful personality has been restored.  It was a long road for us and I pray no family goes through the hell we went through.  I can tell you with certainty that IHOP is not a movement of the Lord.  They manifest demons regularly.  They promote mystical teachings, participate in transcendental meditation techniques which weaken the mind and open the spirit to receive the indoctrination of the leaders, they use psychological manipulations and principals of victimization and hypnosis to put layer upon layer of lies into the minds of these kids, they use music to allure and induce relaxation, and when all of that doesn’t work on some of the kids, they use physical tactics of forced fasting and mandatory journaling and mandatory counseling where the kids are forced to share their past sins under the guise of being freed from them, and if they don’t want to share they are ridiculed and taught that demons are causing doubt, that it isn’t their fault, but their doubts are due to the generational disposition toward sin given to them by their mothers and fathers. I could go on and on, but I’m certain by your posts that you already understand.  IHOP is a cult, there’s no other word to define it.

 

I wanted you to know that what you’re posting about IHOP is dead ON, correct in every way so keep it up.  You might be saving someone’s daughter or son and praise Jesus for every one of those kids that gets set free.

[end of letter]

I think this letter speaks for itself.  The actual reported findings from the private investigator are exactly how she described above… terrifying.  I’ll post these later this week.

If you are involved in IHOP or you know someone that is, please, please pray that their eyes or your eyes are opened and that they or you see the truth behind this movement.

About stopihopcult

I am a believer in Jesus Christ, as my Savior and I love God and stand up for the truth of His Word. In this stance, I am against IHOP (International House of Prayer) because of their cult activity, tactics of mental and emotional manipulation, distortion of God's Word, and consortation with demonic spirits. IHOP is a cult.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

